Default Image

Call for 2018 Air Quality Stewardship Award Nominations

AACOG’s Air Quality Stewardship Awards annually recognize businesses, agencies, schools, and other organizations that have made significant voluntary efforts to reduce air pollution.  Air Quality Stewardship Award nominations for 2018 are now being considered and will be determined early next year. The theme for the 2018 award is "Air Quality Improvement Through Transportation Alternatives."  Any organization with a physical presence within San Antonio or one of its eight surrounding counties* that has helped to improve air quality in at least one of the following categories is eligible for this award: 

Commuter Assistance
Examples: Offering programs or incentives that encourage employees to reduce vehicle emissions by using mass transit and/or carpools (such as bus pass reimbursements or premium parking for carpoolers), allowing employees to work alternative schedules (off traffic-peak) or telecommute to reduce traffic congestion, providing commuter tax benefits, installing bike racks, installing electric vehicle charging stations, or establishing a Walking School Bus program (for schools).
Fleet Management
Examples: Replacing older fleets with newer, cleaner vehicles, utilizing electric or alternative-fuel vehicles and hybrids, establishing idle-reduction policies for delivery trucks/vans, or establishing ozone-sensitive fueling policies (such as refueling only during evenings).
Air Quality Education
Examples: Participating in the region’s Ozone Action Alert program by forwarding alerts to employees with recommendations for measures they can take to reduce pollution on ozone action days, distributing information or hosting an informational presentation or forum on air quality or commuting alternatives.

Nomination and Award Process
Nominations for the 2017 Air Quality Stewardship Awards are being accepted by AACOG's Commute Solutions program through November 30, 2017. The Commute Solutions program will screen the nominations to make sure they meet the award criteria, and will contact qualifying organizations to request additional information. That information will be evaluated by a task force called together by the Commute Solutions Program.  That program's recommendations will be presented to AACOG’s Air Improvement Resources (AIR) Executive Committee at their March 2018 meeting.  Awards will be presented during April or May 2018. For more information, please contact Annette Prosterman at (210) 362-5213 or  To nominate an organization, click here.

Recent Air Quality Stewardship Award Recipients
2017- Alamo Heights Independent School District, City of Leon Valley, Patrick Heath Public Library, Resolute Health Hospital, YMCA of Greater San Antonio
2016 - DoSeum, A-AAA Key Mini Storage Solar (project of Brundage Management Company), ECHO Data Center (project of CPS Energy), RideShare and vCommuter Center Program (project of Joint Base San Antonio), University Hospital Sky Tower(project of University Health System), and VIA VILLA: Centro Plaza (project of VIA Metropolitan Transit).
2015 – San Antonio Missions National Park, Eco Centro (project of San Antonio College), Skymine (project of Skyonic and Zachry Corporations)
2014 – Bexar County, CEMEX Balcones Cement Plant, and Phil Hardberger Park Conservancy
2013 – Lake|Flato Architects
2012 – City of Leon Valley, Eagle Veterinary Hospital, HOLT Cat
2011 – Build San Antonio Green, Clothesline Cleaners, Corbo Electric, Episcopal Church of Reconciliation, USAA

* Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson Counties.

Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus